Persistent Needle Anxiety?

I’m getting a little jittery just looking at it…

Here I come, asking our savvy blog community for advice again…

I know a lot of you have a lot of experience giving yourself injections.  How long did it take you to get used to sticking yourself with needles?

I’ve been giving myself Lovenox injections for 8 days now, and… I’m not sure it’s getting easier.  I’ll still sit there with my skin pinched for 10 or even 15 minutes, staring at the needle and trying to will myself to plunge it into my skin.  Eventually I do it, but it’s hard!  It’s like I need to sit there and get angry and frustrated with myself enough that I finally just overcome the barrier through sheer rage — and that’s not a fun emotional journey.  (This morning, I worked myself into tears before I was able to do it.)

I’m also wondering if I’ve been having more trouble the last couple of days because when I spoke with the nurse at my MFM visit on Monday, she said I needed to switch from injecting myself at night to injecting myself in the morning.  I take it this is not for any medical reason other than that they need to monitor my platelets for the first few weeks and the blood test needs to take place four hours after I do the injection, which means I need to do it in the morning.  But mornings are when I feel the worst — I wake up feeling queasy and weak and weepy, and then I tend to gradually feel better as the day goes on.  So add to general morning pregnancy malaise the need to exercise a fairly extreme amount of self-control and sheer force of will… and it’s not a good mix.  I tend to feel better in the evenings, and I think I was more able to cope with doing the injection before bed partly because I was feeling better in general.

So, what say you, O wise ones?  How long did it take you to adjust to giving yourself injections?  Is it normal to still be freaking out about each one at the end of 8 days?  Were there any tips or tricks that you found helpful when learning to inject yourself?  It does get easier eventually… right?

3 thoughts on “Persistent Needle Anxiety?

  1. Wifey

    I wish I could offer some helpful advice. Needles don’t bother me and, fortunately, I never had any trouble giving myself the injections. DH, on the other hand, takes FOREVER some nights to stick me with the PIO injection that goes in the hip. I’m like “get on with it already!” I wish I could do it myself, but alas I’m not that flexible. Anyway, I think things like this are always mind over matter. How you achieve that “no big deal” mindset, I’m not sure. Sorry, this is probably not helpful at all. But, I hope you are able to get to a point, quickly, where it becomes like second nature.

    Reply
    1. lyra211 Post author

      Oooh, I’m so glad I don’t have to worry about IM injections! I feel for you and your husband, seriously — those needles are huge! Good thing you don’t have anxiety! I’m happy that things have been easier for you, and I’m glad to know that it *is* “no big deal” for some people. 🙂 I’m getting there, I think, just very slowly…

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Overcoming Self-Injection Anxiety (and other Pregnancy After Loss anxieties too) | The Pregnant Physicist

Leave a Reply

